Santa Barbara County traffic school: signing up, the court fee and the 60-day window
Start with the courtesy notice from Santa Barbara Superior Court. Sign up with the court by the due date, pay the bail and the court’s administrative fee, and finish within the 60 calendar days the court allows. This guide covers ordinary adult traffic infractions; the court controls your case.
Who this guide is for
This guide is for adults with an ordinary traffic infraction in the Superior Court of California, County of Santa Barbara who want to request traffic school. For example, a driver whose courtesy notice lists traffic school as an option might use it to plan payment, school sign-up and the completion check. It does not cover misdemeanors, mandatory appearances, juvenile matters or tickets filed in another county; use the county court directory for other courts.
How do I request traffic school for a ticket in Santa Barbara County?
If your Santa Barbara Superior Court courtesy notice shows you are eligible, sign up with the court by the due date: through its online portal, by phone at (805) 568-3959 or at a Traffic Clerk’s Office. Pay the full bail, or set up a payment plan, plus the court’s $66 administrative fee. You then have 60 calendar days from payment to finish.
| Court | Superior Court of California, County of Santa Barbara, Traffic/Minor Offenses (Santa Barbara Figueroa, Santa Maria Miller and Lompoc divisions). |
|---|---|
| Official website | santabarbara.courts.ca.gov — Traffic/Minor Offenses and the court’s online traffic portal. |
| Where to request | The court’s online portal; by phone at (805) 568-3959; or in person at a Traffic Clerk’s Office during office hours. The court also accepts payments with traffic school requests by mail and in its Express Service Drop Box. |
| What to verify | That your courtesy notice shows traffic school eligibility; the total due; your completion due date, 60 calendar days from when the court receives payment; and, if you are on a payment plan, that it is paid in full. Check any school’s license with our school verification guide. |
Answer and key facts checked against the court’s Traffic/Minor Offenses page and online traffic portal on . The court decides eligibility and sets the dates for your case.
Check the court’s eligibility requirements
Santa Barbara Superior Court says you must meet all of its requirements and that a clerk cannot grant traffic school otherwise. In summary: you have a valid driver’s license; the violation did not occur in a commercial vehicle; you have not attended traffic school for a previous violation within the past 18 months; the citation is an infraction reportable to DMV; it carries no more than one negligent operator point, does not involve alcohol or drugs, is not for exceeding a speed limit by more than 25 mph and does not require a mandatory court appearance; and it is not for Vehicle Code section 22406.5 (tank vehicles). Court requirements.
For drivers with a commercial license who were cited in a noncommercial vehicle, the court says one conviction in any 18-month period will show on the driving record without a violation point after traffic school, and that the driver must notify DMV’s Mandatory Actions Unit at 916-657-6525 after completing traffic school for the point to be masked. Court advisory.
Statewide, California Rules of Court, rule 4.104 lets a court clerk grant traffic school for many ordinary infractions, but not for others. Examples the rule places outside routine clerk authority include a violation within 18 months of a previous violation for which you attended or elected to attend traffic school, alcohol- or drug-related violations, speeding alleged at more than 25 mph over the limit, and a violation in a commercial vehicle. A judicial officer can still use discretion in an individual case; that is not a promise that traffic school will be allowed.
The same rule says pleading not guilty or going to trial does not, by itself, make an otherwise eligible driver ineligible. If you hold a class A, class B or commercial class C license and were driving a vehicle that needed only a noncommercial license, you may ask for traffic school, but the rule says the conviction is not reported as confidential. If anything about your case is unusual, ask Santa Barbara Superior Court before you choose a school.
Request traffic school: the court’s routes
Once the court receives your citation from the law enforcement agency, it mails a courtesy/warning notice showing the bail, the deadline and your traffic school eligibility. The court says this can take 10 to 15 days, that the date at the bottom of your ticket is a “promise to appear” due date rather than a court date, and that you are responsible for contacting the court by that date whether or not the notice has arrived. Citations and notices.
- Online. The court’s portal lists signing up and paying for traffic violator school, along with looking up citations and requesting a one-time 30-day extension. The court tells you to follow the directions on the back of your courtesy notice. Online traffic portal · Sign-up instructions.
- By phone. Call (805) 568-3959. The court lists phone hours of Monday to Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Phone sign-up and hours.
- In person. Go to a Traffic Clerk’s Office during counter hours, Monday to Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. The court lists the Santa Barbara Figueroa Division (118 E. Figueroa Street, Santa Barbara), the Santa Maria Miller Division (312 East Cook Street, Building E, Santa Maria) and the Lompoc Division (115 Civic Center Plaza, Lompoc). Locations and hours.
- By mail or drop box. The court says payments with traffic school requests may be made by mail, with checks, cashier’s checks or money orders payable to “Clerk of the Court” and the citation number and cited person’s name written on them. Its Express Service Drop Box at the Clerk’s Office accepts a request to attend traffic school along with the full bail and the $66 fee. Payment options.
If the same citation also has a correctable violation, the court says to submit the signed proof of correction, plus a $25 transaction fee for each correctable violation, at the same time you request traffic school. Correctable violations.
Separate court charges from school tuition
As checked on , the court says that if you choose traffic school you pay the full bail amount, or sign up for an installment payment plan, plus a $66 administrative fee; its FAQ calls this fee non-refundable. Each school charges its own fee, paid directly to the school when you register, and the court says the amount varies by school. Use the total on your courtesy notice; this guide does not calculate it. Court fee statement · Court-versus-school cost guide.
The court says you may attend traffic school while on a payment plan, but completion will not be sent to DMV until your fine has been paid in full. Payment plan note.
Deadlines and what happens if you miss them
The court says that when you register for traffic school with the court, you are given 60 calendar days from the date it receives payment to complete it. If you do not finish by the due date, the court says the citation is reported to DMV as a conviction. Sixty-day requirement.
The court may grant one 30-day extension of time to complete traffic school if you ask before the certificate’s due date; it says no further extensions will be granted. Completion extension.
If you finish late but within 60 calendar days of the due date, after the court has already reported a conviction, the court says you may ask it to accept the late certificate and send an updated notice of completion to DMV, and that there may be an administrative fee of up to $50. It says requests made more than 60 calendar days after the due date will not be granted. Late certificates.
If you do not resolve your citation, the court says it may add up to a $100 civil assessment and refer the case to a collection agency, after which you lose the chance to work with the court directly, including to attend traffic school. Missed deadlines.
Choose a school and confirm the court received completion
The court’s page says more information about traffic schools is available from DMV, where you can select classroom, home study or internet courses and follow the steps to find a provider. Whatever list you start from, check the school’s license with DMV. Court school instructions.
Only choose a school after the court has allowed traffic school for your citation. Use the California DMV’s traffic school list to check a school’s license and its type of instruction; DMV says you cannot register for a school through its website and must contact the school directly. Confirm the school’s total price, that it is currently enrolling and that it can report completion for your court. Our online course is not yet available. To complete traffic school now, choose a school from the California DMV’s traffic school list. How to verify a licensed school.
The court says that after you successfully complete traffic school, DMV notifies the court and a confidential conviction is sent to DMV. Its FAQ also says you must submit satisfactory proof of completion to the court by your due date. The court’s page does not describe a way to check that it received your completion, so ask the school how it reports and contact the Traffic Clerk’s Office if you are unsure. Completion and proof.
Frequently asked questions about Santa Barbara traffic school
- How much does Santa Barbara County charge to allow traffic school?
- The court says you pay the full bail, or set up a payment plan, plus a $66 administrative fee. The school’s own fee is separate. Traffic/Minor Offenses page
- How long do I have to finish?
- The court says you have 60 calendar days from the date it receives payment. Traffic/Minor Offenses page
- Can I extend the completion date?
- The court may grant one 30-day extension if you ask before the certificate’s due date. It says no further extensions will be granted. Traffic/Minor Offenses page
- Can I go to traffic school while on a payment plan?
- Yes, according to the court, but completion will not be sent to DMV until the fine is paid in full. Traffic/Minor Offenses page
- What if I finished after the due date?
- If you finish within 60 calendar days of the due date, the court says you may ask it to accept the late certificate; an administrative fee of up to $50 may apply. Traffic/Minor Offenses page
Common misconceptions about Santa Barbara traffic school
- “The date at the bottom of my ticket is my court date.”
- The court says it is a “promise to appear” date: not a court date, but a due date to resolve the citation in some way. Traffic/Minor Offenses FAQ
- “I can wait for the courtesy notice before doing anything.”
- The court says you are responsible for contacting it by the promise to appear date whether or not the courtesy notice has arrived. Citations and notices
- “Once I finish the class on a payment plan, my record is updated.”
- The court says completion will not be sent to DMV until the fine is paid in full. Traffic violator school
What this guide cannot do
- This guide summarizes public pages; it is not legal advice and it does not change anything in your case. Santa Barbara Superior Court decides eligibility, deadlines, fees and whether your completion is credited.
- Court pages change. If your court notice or the court’s current website says something different from this guide, follow the court.
- Where a court page does not state a fee, a deadline or a procedure, this guide does not state one either. Check your court notice or ask the clerk.
- This guide does not cover misdemeanors, mandatory appearances, juvenile matters, parking tickets or tickets from another county.
- California Licensing Education cannot look up your case, request traffic school for you, extend a date or send a completion record. Our online course is not yet available.
Official sources and next steps
- Santa Barbara Superior Court — Traffic/Minor Offenses
- Santa Barbara Superior Court — online traffic portal
- California Rules of Court — rule 4.104
- California Courts Self-Help — Traffic school
- California DMV — Traffic School List
Each source above was checked on . Follow current court instructions and any order for your own case.
California Licensing Education is a private provider. Our online course is not yet available; enrollment, payment and official completion reporting remain closed. Our public guides earn no court credit. This guide cannot decide eligibility, inspect your case, extend a deadline or submit a court record.