Skip to main content

California Licensing Education · Private education provider

San Luis Obispo County traffic school: request routes, due dates and completion

Start with San Luis Obispo Superior Court’s courtesy bail notice, which says whether your violation is eligible. Pay the court by the notice’s due date through a route it lists, then finish within the completion period printed on the notice. This guide covers ordinary adult traffic infractions; the court controls your case.

How do I request traffic school for a ticket in San Luis Obispo County?

San Luis Obispo Superior Court says to mail the bottom portion of your courtesy bail notice with a check or money order, or to choose the traffic school button when paying online, which adds a $70 fee to your case. Pay by the notice’s due date. Adults must get proof of completion to the court within 13 weeks of the original due date.

San Luis Obispo County traffic school: key facts
CourtSuperior Court of California, County of San Luis Obispo, Traffic Processing Center, Grover Beach Branch, 214 South 16th Street, Grover Beach, CA 93433.
Official websiteslo.courts.ca.gov — Traffic School, Pay Your Ticket and Traffic Tickets 101.
Where to requestBy mail, sending the bottom portion of your courtesy bail notice, any proof of correction and your payment to the return address on the notice; or online, choosing the traffic school button on the court’s payment screen if you have not already appeared in court. Payment windows are in Grover Beach, Paso Robles and San Luis Obispo. Phone: (805) 706-3600, Monday–Friday, 8:30 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
What to verifyThat your courtesy bail notice shows the violation as traffic-school eligible; the total non-refundable fee on the notice; your due date and traffic-school completion date, both printed on the notice; and, after you finish, that the court’s record shows your completion. Check any school’s license with our school verification guide.

Answer and key facts checked against the court’s Traffic School page, Pay Your Ticket page and Traffic Tickets 101 page on . The court decides eligibility and sets the dates for your case.

Who this guide is for

This guide is for adults with a traffic infraction citation filed in San Luis Obispo Superior Court whose courtesy bail notice offers traffic school. The court says the notice indicates whether your violation is eligible for a confidential traffic-school conviction. Its completion period for minors is shorter, and some violations require a court appearance and cannot simply be paid. Traffic School overview · Paying bail.

Check the court’s eligibility list

San Luis Obispo lists three requirements: a valid Class C driver’s license; an infraction between Vehicle Code sections 21000 and 28114 that is reportable to DMV, with some exceptions; and no traffic school within the last 18 months and one day of your current violation date, counted from your previous violation date to your current one. Eligibility requirements.

The court then lists violations that are not eligible, closely following statewide rule 4.104: more than one negligent-operator point (or one and one-half points under section 12810.5(b)(2)); a violation within 18 months after one for which you attended or elected traffic school; tank-vehicle violations; alcohol- or drug-related violations; a failure to appear with an unpaid civil assessment; speed alleged more than 25 mph over the limit; a violation in a commercial vehicle; and a violation by a driver holding a class A, class B or commercial class C license. If you do not meet these requirements, the court says the clerk cannot grant your request and you must ask a judicial officer. Non-eligibility list.

Rule 4.104 says a commercial-license holder who was driving a vehicle that needed only a noncommercial class C or class M license may request traffic school, but the conviction is not reported as confidential. The court also says that traffic school after a court trial would have to be approved by the judge, and that if you sign up and are later found ineligible, the bail and fee are applied and the case is closed with a conviction. Traffic FAQ · After completing traffic school.

Request traffic school from the court

All fees and any proof of correction are due by the due date on your courtesy bail notice, and the court says you must pay the entire non-refundable fee before you attend the class. Steps you take.

  1. By mail. If you meet the requirements, mail the bottom portion of your courtesy bail notice with any proof of correction and your check or money order to the return address on the notice. The payment must equal the total non-refundable fee shown on the notice. The Traffic Tickets 101 page says to make it payable to the SLO Superior Court, write your docket number (or citation number) on it, and not to mail cash; the Traffic Processing Center is at 214 S. 16th Street, Grover Beach, CA 93433. Mail request · Mailing a payment.
  2. Online. If you have not already appeared in court, choose the traffic school button on the payment screen of the court’s ePayment service; the court says a fee of $70 is added to your case. If you appeared in court and were given a traffic-school fee to pay, choose only the pay-in-full option. You cannot show proof of correction online, so contact the clerk’s office first if your ticket has a correctable violation. ePayments for traffic cases.
  3. At the clerk’s counter. The court describes a “Counter Arraignment,” in which the clerk accepts a written guilty plea at the counter (or by mail) and continues the case for payments, and says this option is also available for traffic-school fees. Payment windows are listed below. Payment alternatives.

Separate court charges from school tuition

San Luis Obispo says the traffic-school fee is made up of the highest bail amount among your traffic-school-eligible violations plus a State Administrative Fee, and its online payment page says choosing traffic school adds a fee of $70 to your case. Schools charge their own enrollment fee, separate from the court’s. Use the total on your courtesy bail notice; this guide does not calculate it. Fee description · $70 online fee · Court-versus-school cost guide.

Online payments carry a 2.95% convenience fee and a $3.50 online payments fee per transaction, and the court adds $30.00 for a returned check. Under a Counter Arraignment, the court says you may request a one-time 90-day extension or monthly payments of $50/$100, including for traffic-school fees. Transaction fees · Returned checks and payment alternatives.

Keep the 13-week completion date

The court says traffic-school proof of completion is due 13 weeks for adults (8 weeks for minors) from your original due date, and that both your due date and your traffic-school completion date are printed on your courtesy bail notice. Completion period.

If proof of completion does not reach the court by the assigned due date, San Luis Obispo says it orders the traffic-school fee converted to bail and forfeited with no further proceedings. A bail forfeiture is a conviction and is reported to DMV. Be on time.

Separately, the Traffic Tickets 101 page says the clerk’s office may give one 30-day court appearance or due-date extension, requested by email to slotraffic@slo.courts.ca.gov or by phone. The page does not say whether that moves a traffic-school completion date, so ask the court before relying on it. Requesting an extension.

Copy the actual dates from your court documents into your own notes
RequirementAssigned dateCourt-confirmed change, if any
Due date on the courtesy bail notice (fees and any proof of correction)____________
Traffic-school fee paid____________
Proof of completion due (13 weeks for adults)____________

Choose a licensed school and confirm completion

After the court accepts your request, check a provider’s license and type of instruction on DMV’s traffic school list; DMV says you register with the school, not through DMV. San Luis Obispo says you may attend a school in your area of residence, that a classroom school requires an appointment, and that schools charge their own fee. Find a traffic school · How to verify a school.

The court says schools submit certificates to it electronically, and you may print a copy for your records. You may not receive confirmation from the court: it notifies the school when the certificate is filed, but not every school passes that on. To check for yourself, view your case on re:SearchCA, call the Traffic Processing Center at (805) 706-3600 (option 1) or email slotraffic@slo.courts.ca.gov. After completing traffic school.

Contact San Luis Obispo Traffic Court

The Traffic Processing Center is at the Grover Beach Branch, 214 South 16th Street, Grover Beach, CA 93433, where the payment window is open Monday–Thursday, 8:30 a.m.–12:00 p.m. and checks or money orders can go in the drop box. Phone (805) 706-3600, Monday–Friday, 8:30 a.m.–12:00 p.m.; email slotraffic@slo.courts.ca.gov. Other payment windows are at the Paso Robles Branch, 901 Park Street, Paso Robles (Wednesday and Friday, 8:30 a.m.–12:00 p.m.), and the San Luis Obispo courthouse, 1050 Monterey Street, Room 220 (Monday–Thursday, 8:30 a.m.–12:00 p.m.). Check current hours before visiting. Enter case details only through the court’s official services; this guide collects none. Contact information · Locations.

Frequently asked questions about San Luis Obispo County traffic school

How much does San Luis Obispo County charge to allow traffic school?
The court’s online payment page says choosing traffic school adds a fee of $70 to your case, on top of the highest eligible bail. The school’s fee is separate. Pay Your Ticket · Traffic School page
How long do I have to complete traffic school?
For adults, the court says proof of completion is due 13 weeks from your original due date; the exact date is on your courtesy bail notice. Completion period
I already appeared in court and was given a traffic-school fee. Do I press the traffic school button online?
No. The court says to choose only the pay-in-full option in that case. ePayments for traffic cases
Will the court tell me it received my certificate?
Not necessarily. The court says you may not receive confirmation and suggests checking re:SearchCA, calling (805) 706-3600 (option 1) or emailing the traffic office. After completing traffic school
Can I pay traffic-school fees over time?
The court says its Counter Arraignment option, with a one-time 90-day extension or monthly payments, is also available for traffic-school fees. Payment alternatives

What this guide cannot do

This guide summarizes the court pages listed below as they read on . Court procedures, fees and hours change, and your courtesy notice, case record or a court order controls your case. It cannot decide eligibility, look up your citation, extend a deadline, submit anything to the court or predict how your driving record will be affected. Where a court page does not state a fee, a deadline or a procedure, this guide does not state one either. If this guide and the court disagree, follow the court.

California Courts explains statewide how traffic school works; read its traffic-school page for general background, and use San Luis Obispo Superior Court’s instructions for your case.

Common misconceptions about San Luis Obispo County traffic school

“The 18 months count from when I finished my last course.”
San Luis Obispo says the period is calculated from your previous violation date to your current violation date. Eligibility requirements
“Signing up locks in traffic school even if I turn out to be ineligible.”
The court says that if it later finds you do not meet the requirements, the bail and fee are applied and the case is closed with a conviction. Traffic School page
“A late certificate only adds a penalty.”
The court says it converts the traffic-school fee to bail and forfeits it with no further proceedings, and the conviction is reported to DMV. Be on time

Official sources and next steps

Each source above was checked on . Follow current court instructions and any order for your own case.

California Licensing Education is a private provider. Our online course is not yet available; enrollment, payment and official completion reporting remain closed. Our public guides earn no court credit. To complete traffic school now, choose a licensed school from DMV’s traffic school list after the court gives you permission.