Skip to main content

California Licensing Education · Private education provider

Placer County traffic school: request routes, court fee and completion

Start with Placer Superior Court’s bail notice and its Traffic Violator School Program page. Request school through a route the court lists, pay before your official pay-or-appear date and make sure the court has your certificate by the completion due date it gives you. This guide covers ordinary adult traffic infractions; the court controls your case.

How do I request traffic school for a ticket in Placer County?

Placer Superior Court says you sign up for traffic school by paying your fine plus a $64.50 administrative fee by mail, in person or through the court’s online system. A traffic-school payment plan needs an in-person visit. The court must receive your certificate by the completion due date it sets; its traffic-school page does not state a fixed number of days.

Placer County traffic school: key facts
CourtSuperior Court of California, County of Placer. Traffic matters are heard at the Hon. Howard G. Gibson Courthouse, 10820 Justice Center Drive, Roseville, CA 95678, and at the Tahoe Courthouse in Tahoe City.
Official websiteplacer.courts.ca.gov — Traffic Violator School Program, the court’s Traffic Division page and the online payment system linked from both.
Where to requestOnline through the court’s payment system; by mail, returning your notice with a check to the address on it (the court’s traffic mailing address is P.O. Box 619077, Roseville, CA 95661); or in person at the court. Requests that need a payment plan must be made in person. Phone: (916) 408-6000.
What to verifyThe pay-or-appear date on your bail notice; the fine plus the $64.50 fee; the completion due date the court gives you; that your citation is not a two-point, alcohol- or drug-related or otherwise excluded violation; and, after you finish, the certificate status through the link on the court’s traffic-school page. Check any school’s license with our school verification guide.

Answer and key facts checked against the court’s Traffic Violator School Program page and Traffic Division page on . The court decides eligibility and sets the dates for your case.

Who this guide is for

This guide is for adults with a traffic infraction citation filed in Placer Superior Court. The court says that if you were cited as a minor, you must appear in court; you may ask for traffic school at that hearing, and the judge decides. Citations with a mandatory appearance also require you or an attorney to appear on the date shown. Minors · Mandatory appearances.

Check the court’s eligibility list

Placer’s traffic-school page lists these conditions for a traffic infraction: you have not completed traffic school within 18 months of receiving the current citation; a speeding charge is not more than 25 mph over the cited safe speed; the violation did not happen in a commercial vehicle; the citation is not for one of several listed serious Vehicle Code sections, including hit and run, reckless driving and DUI; and statewide rule 4.104 does not exclude it. The same page says alcohol- or drug-related charges and two-point violations are not eligible. Court eligibility criteria.

If you missed your pay or appear date, the court says you are not eligible for traffic school until you pay all fees and civil assessments, or appear in court and the judge authorizes it. Failure to appear.

On commercial licenses, the page’s checklist says you must not hold a class A, class B or commercial class C license, but a later paragraph on the same page says commercial-license holders are eligible if they were not driving a commercial vehicle. Statewide rule 4.104 lets such a driver request traffic school when the vehicle needed only a noncommercial class C or class M license, and says the conviction is not reported as confidential. If you hold a commercial license, ask the court before you pay. Commercial-license notice.

Placer words its 18-month test from when you received the current citation, while rule 4.104 counts 18 months from a previous violation for which you attended or elected traffic school. If your dates are close, ask the clerk; our 18-month date calculator only helps you prepare that question.

Request traffic school from the court

Placer says that to sign up for traffic school you pay your fine plus the administrative fee by mail, in person or through the court’s online system. Its Traffic Division page adds that you must pay your ticket fine to attend. Court fees and sign-up · Request Traffic School.

  1. Online. Use the court’s online payment system. If you pay online, the court says you find the list of traffic schools through the links on its traffic-school page rather than receiving one by mail. Online payments.
  2. By mail. Return your notice to appear with a check to the address listed on the notice. When payment arrives by mail or automated phone, Placer says it mails a list of traffic schools to your address. Paying by mail · School list by mail.
  3. In person. Pay at the court. A traffic-school request with a payment plan cannot be made online or by mail: the court says you must appear in person to make the first payment and sign the payment agreement. Payment plans.

If you previously forfeited bail and now want traffic school, Placer says to submit the $64.50 administrative fee to receive traffic-school information. Your case number is on your court summons and in the court’s online portal. Prior bail forfeiture · Finding your case number.

Separate court charges from school tuition

As checked on , Placer says you must pay your fine plus a $64.50 administrative fee to sign up for traffic school. The school you choose is paid separately; California Courts says statewide that you pay both the court and a traffic school fee. Use the amount on your bail notice or in the court’s online system; this guide does not calculate it. Court fee statement · Self-Help Guide · Court-versus-school cost guide.

If you cannot afford the fine, Placer’s Traffic Division page describes requests for a lower fine, a payment plan, more time to pay or community service, using the “Can’t Afford to Pay” form, a court appearance or the MyCitations tool. Request a fine reduction.

Due dates and missed deadlines

Placer calls the bail notice a courtesy that you may not receive. It says the court date on the bail notice is your “official” date to pay or appear and may differ from the date on your citation; either way, you remain responsible for the citation. Notice to Appear FAQ.

The court must receive your traffic school certificate by your completion due date. Placer says that if you do not complete traffic school and submit proof by that date, you may have a conviction reported to DMV, a point on your driving record, a referral to Revenue Services for payment and/or a hold on your driving record. The traffic-school page does not state a fixed completion period or describe an extension of the completion date, so use the date the court gives you and ask the clerk about any change before it passes. Completion due date.

For court dates, the Traffic Division page says a continuance may be granted on a written request in person at the clerk’s office and that you may reschedule your court date online one time. It also says the court may impose a civil assessment of up to $100.00 if you fail to appear or pay without good cause. Continuance and failure to appear.

Copy the actual dates from your court documents into your own notes
RequirementAssigned dateCourt-confirmed change, if any
Official pay-or-appear date on the bail notice____________
Fine and $64.50 fee paid____________
Traffic school completion due date____________

Choose a licensed school and confirm completion

After the court accepts your request, check a provider’s license and type of instruction on DMV’s traffic school list, which Placer links from its Traffic Division page. DMV says you cannot register for a school through its website and must contact the school. For help with DMV’s list, Placer gives DMV’s Business Licensing Unit number, (800) 777-0133. Court link to DMV’s list · How to locate a school · How to verify a school.

Placer’s traffic-school page includes a “Check status of Traffic School Certificate” link for confirming that the court received your certificate. Check it before your completion due date so there is time to contact the school or the court if it is missing. Certificate status.

Contact Placer Traffic Court

The Hon. Howard G. Gibson Courthouse is at 10820 Justice Center Drive, Roseville, CA 95678; phone (916) 408-6000. Traffic mail goes to Placer County Superior Court, P.O. Box 619077, Roseville, CA 95661. The Tahoe Courthouse is at 2501 N. Lake Blvd, Tahoe City, CA 96145; phone (530) 584-3460. Locations and contact information.

Placer hears traffic cases on a walk-in basis. Its Traffic Division page says proceedings are held Mondays and Tuesdays at the Gibson Courthouse, with check-in from 8:30 to 9:00 a.m. for the morning session and 12:30 to 1:00 p.m. for the afternoon. The same page gives two different days for Tahoe City, so call before traveling there. The court’s online contact form is reviewed within about 72 hours and is not for time-sensitive requests. Enter case details only through the court’s official services; this guide collects none. In-person appearances · Traffic contact form.

Frequently asked questions about Placer County traffic school

How much does Placer County charge to allow traffic school?
The court says you pay your fine plus a $64.50 administrative fee. The school’s own fee is separate. Traffic Violator School Program page
Can I request Placer County traffic school online?
Yes, through the court’s online system, unless you need a payment plan; the court says a traffic-school payment plan requires an in-person visit. Court fees and sign-up
How long do I have to complete traffic school?
Placer’s page says the court must receive your certificate by your completion due date but does not state a fixed number of days. Use the date the court gives you. Completion due date
Is a two-point violation eligible?
No. Placer says you are not eligible for traffic school if you are charged with a two-point violation. Eligibility
How do I know the court received my certificate?
Use the certificate-status link on the court’s traffic-school page, and contact the court if it does not appear before your due date. Certificate status

What this guide cannot do

This guide summarizes the court pages listed below as they read on . Court procedures, fees and hours change, and your courtesy notice, case record or a court order controls your case. It cannot decide eligibility, look up your citation, extend a deadline, submit anything to the court or predict how your driving record will be affected. Where a court page does not state a fee, a deadline or a procedure, this guide does not state one either. If this guide and the court disagree, follow the court.

California Courts explains statewide how traffic school works; read its traffic-school page for general background, and use Placer Superior Court’s instructions for your case.

Common misconceptions about Placer County traffic school

“I can set up a traffic-school payment plan by mail.”
Placer says you cannot request traffic school with a payment plan online or by mail; the first payment and the payment agreement must be done in person. Traffic Violator School Program page
“If my bail notice never arrives, I can wait.”
The court calls the bail notice a courtesy you may not receive and says you remain responsible for the citation regardless. Traffic Division FAQs
“A missed failure-to-appear date does not affect traffic school.”
Placer says that after a missed pay or appear date you are not eligible until you pay all fees and civil assessments, or a judge authorizes it. Eligibility after failure to appear

Official sources and next steps

Each source above was checked on . Follow current court instructions and any order for your own case.

California Licensing Education is a private provider. Our online course is not yet available; enrollment, payment and official completion reporting remain closed. Our public guides earn no court credit. To complete traffic school now, choose a licensed school from DMV’s traffic school list after the court gives you permission.