Alameda County traffic school: fees, the 90-day window and completion
Start with your Alameda Superior Court courtesy notice. Pay the bail and court fee only if traffic school is allowed, keep the 90-day window in view and check that the court received your certificate. This guide covers ordinary adult traffic infractions; the court controls your case.
Who this guide is for
This guide is for adults with an ordinary traffic infraction in the Superior Court of California, County of Alameda, who want to request traffic school. For example, a driver whose courtesy notice lists traffic school as an option might use it to plan payment, school sign-up and the completion check. It does not cover misdemeanors, mandatory appearances, juvenile matters or tickets filed in another county; use the county court directory for other courts.
How do I request traffic school for a ticket in Alameda County?
If your Alameda Superior Court courtesy notice allows traffic school, pay the bail plus the court’s nonrefundable administrative fee, which its traffic page puts at $57.00, online through ePayIt, by mail or at a traffic counter. The court then continues your citation for 90 days from payment. Contact a school within two weeks and have it file your certificate before the 90th day.
| Court | Superior Court of California, County of Alameda, Traffic Division (Fremont, Oakland and Dublin). |
|---|---|
| Official website | alameda.courts.ca.gov — Traffic School and the court’s ePayIt look-up and payment system. |
| Where to request | ePayIt online, mail (check payable to “Clerk of the Court” with your citation or case number), or a traffic clerk’s office or drop box at the Fremont, Oakland (Wiley W. Manuel) or Dublin (East County) courthouse. |
| What to verify | That your courtesy notice allows traffic school; the total due; your 90-day completion due date; and, five to seven business days after you finish, that ePayIt shows the court received your certificate. Check any school’s license with our school verification guide. |
Answer and key facts checked against the court’s Traffic School page, Traffic Court page and online traffic services page on . The court decides eligibility and sets the dates for your case.
Check the court’s eligibility list
Alameda Superior Court says you must meet all of its criteria. In summary: you pay the bail and a state-mandated traffic school administrative fee before signing up; you held a valid driver’s license when cited; you are not attending and have not attended traffic school within the last 18 months, counted from violation date to violation date; the citation is for a moving violation, is not a misdemeanor and was not in a commercial vehicle; it does not require a mandatory appearance; it does not involve alcohol or drugs; and it is not for Vehicle Code section 22406.5 or 21655.5. Any failure to appear, warrant or civil assessment must be adjudicated or paid in full first. Court eligibility criteria.
On speed, the court’s page says “Excess speed of 25mph and above” is not eligible, while statewide rule 4.104 describes speed alleged at more than 25 mph over the limit as outside routine clerk authority. If your alleged speed is close to that line, ask the court before you pay. The court also says that, since September 13, 2012, commercial-license holders driving a noncommercial vehicle are eligible. Court eligibility criteria · Rule 4.104.
Statewide, California Rules of Court, rule 4.104 lets a court clerk grant traffic school for many ordinary infractions, but not for others. Examples the rule lists as outside routine clerk authority include a violation within 18 months of a previous violation for which you attended or elected to attend traffic school, alcohol- or drug-related violations, speeding alleged at more than 25 mph over the limit, and a violation in a commercial vehicle. A judicial officer can still use discretion in an individual case; that is not a promise of approval.
The same rule says pleading not guilty or going to trial does not, by itself, make an otherwise eligible driver ineligible. If you hold a class A, class B or commercial class C license and were driving a vehicle that needed only a noncommercial license, you may ask for traffic school, but the rule says the conviction is not reported as confidential. If anything about your case is unusual, ask Alameda Superior Court before you choose a school.
Request traffic school: the court’s routes
Your courtesy notice is mailed to the address on your citation and lists traffic school eligibility requirements along with the bail amount. The court says the date at the bottom of your citation is not a court date; if no courtesy notice has arrived within four weeks, bring your citation to a Traffic Division window. Courtesy notice FAQ.
- Online. The court’s online system, ePayIt, lists “Pay Traffic School Fees (bail amounts plus enrollment fee)” and paying traffic school fees in installments. The court says available options appear only if your citation is eligible, and that VISA and MasterCard are accepted online. Online options · ePayIt.
- By mail. Pay the nonrefundable administration fee plus the bail with a check payable to “Clerk of the Court,” and include your citation or case number. The court asks you to allow 10 days for mail delivery and processing. Payment instructions · Mail timing.
- In person or drop box. Traffic clerk’s offices are at the Fremont Hall of Justice, the Wiley W. Manuel Courthouse in Oakland and the East County Hall of Justice in Dublin. The court lists hours of Monday to Thursday, 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m., and Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., and drop boxes at the same three courthouses. Traffic court hours and locations.
Separate court charges from school tuition
As checked on , the court’s traffic page says that if traffic school is allowed, an additional $57.00 is added to the total fine due. Its traffic school page calls this a nonrefundable administration fee paid with the bail, and says it is in addition to what the school you select charges. Use the total shown on your courtesy notice or in ePayIt; this guide does not calculate it. Court fee statement · Traffic school page · Court-versus-school cost guide.
Deadlines and what happens if you miss them
The court says your citation is continued for 90 days from the date of payment so you can attend and complete traffic school. Within that time it says to contact a school within two weeks, pay the school’s registration fee, register, complete the course and have the school complete the certificate. It warns that classes can fill up, so do not wait to sign up. Ninety-day requirement.
If proof of completion is not submitted by the due date, the court says your bail is forfeited, the violation is reported to DMV as a conviction and a point count goes on your driving record. Failure to complete.
The court says you can use ePayIt to extend your traffic school completion due date. Separately, it says the due date on your courtesy notice may be extended only once, by 30 days, online, at a traffic counter, by mail or by phone; longer extensions need a court appearance, and extensions may not be granted on delinquent matters. The court says missing a due date may result in a DMV hold, increased bail, a civil assessment and referral to a collection agency. Completion due-date extension · Due-date extension and missed dates.
Choose a school and confirm the court received completion
Alameda’s traffic school page tells you to select a school from the traffic school list it links. Whatever list you start from, check the school’s license with DMV. Court school instructions.
Only choose a school after the court has allowed traffic school for your citation. Use the California DMV’s traffic school list to check a school’s license and its type of instruction; DMV says you cannot register for a school through its website and must contact the school directly. Confirm the school’s total price, that it is currently enrolling and that it can report completion to your court. Our online course is not yet available. To complete traffic school now, choose a school from the California DMV’s traffic school list. How to verify a licensed school.
The court says that when you finish, the school gives you a receipt and electronically files the Certificate of Completion with the court. You can check in ePayIt whether the court received it; the court asks you to wait five to seven business days after completion first. DMV’s driver handbook says the school reports your course completion to the court and that you also get a completion receipt. Confirm the court’s receipt.
Frequently asked questions about Alameda traffic school
- How much does Alameda County charge to allow traffic school?
- The court’s traffic page says $57.00 is added to the total fine due if traffic school is allowed. The school’s own fee is separate. Traffic Court page · Traffic School page
- How long do I have to finish?
- The court says the citation is continued for 90 days from the date of payment, and that every step, including the school filing your certificate, must be done before the 90th day. Traffic School page
- Can I extend the traffic school completion date?
- The court says you can request an extension of the completion due date through ePayIt. It does not state the length on its traffic school page, so check what the system offers for your case. Traffic School page · ePayIt
- Can I pay the traffic school fees in installments?
- The court’s online services page lists paying traffic school fees in installments as an ePayIt option, shown only if your citation is eligible. Online options
- How do I know the court received my certificate?
- Wait five to seven business days after you finish, then check your citation in ePayIt. Traffic School page
Common misconceptions about Alameda traffic school
- “The date at the bottom of my citation is my court date.”
- The court says it is not a court date; it is the date by which you should take action, and your courtesy notice has the actual due date. Traffic Court FAQs
- “I can sign up for a school whenever I like within the 90 days.”
- The court says to contact a school within two weeks and warns that classes may be full if you wait. Traffic School page
- “A missing certificate just means a late fee.”
- The court says that without proof of completion by the due date, bail is forfeited, a conviction is reported to DMV and a point count goes on your record. Traffic School page
What this guide cannot do
- This guide summarizes public pages; it is not legal advice and it does not change anything in your case. Alameda Superior Court decides eligibility, deadlines, fees and whether your completion is credited.
- Court pages change. If your courtesy notice, reminder notice or the court’s current website says something different from this guide, follow the court.
- Where a court page does not state a fee, a deadline or a procedure, this guide does not state one either. Check your court notice or ask the clerk.
- This guide does not cover misdemeanors, mandatory appearances, juvenile matters, parking tickets or tickets from another county.
- California Licensing Education cannot look up your case, request traffic school for you, extend a date or send a completion record. Our online course is not yet available.
Official sources and next steps
- Alameda Superior Court — Traffic School
- Alameda Superior Court — Traffic Court
- Alameda Superior Court — Look Up and Pay Your Traffic Ticket
- Alameda Superior Court — Online Services, Look Up or Pay Your Traffic Ticket
- Alameda Superior Court — ePayIt online court payments
- California Rules of Court — rule 4.104
- California Courts Self-Help — Traffic school
- California DMV — Driver handbook, traffic violator school
- California DMV — Traffic School List
Each source above was checked on . Follow current court instructions and any order for your own case.
California Licensing Education is a private provider. Our online course is not yet available; enrollment, payment and official completion reporting remain closed. Our public guides earn no court credit. This guide cannot decide eligibility, inspect your case, extend a deadline or submit a court record.